NBA CITY EDITION REVIEW

Today all 30 NBA teams revealed their 2021-2022 City Edition jerseys. With the NBA celebrating its 75th season teams have a unique opportunity to dawn some really special jerseys. 

Today is one of the most exciting days of the NBA season, City Edition reveal day. This is the first time where the basketball world gets to officially lay its gaze upon the city-unique uniforms. With the NBA celebrating its 75th season, these uniforms are created with the history of the franchises in mind. 

Which uniforms are a slam dunk and which uniforms missed the cut? Let’s discuss these bad boys.

The Best 

Indiana Pacers

Okay, I may be slightly biased here since I am a huge Indiana Pacers fan, but I will say that these are my favorite city edition jerseys the Pacers have done. The perfect fusion of the iconic ’80s and ’90’s uniforms would make Bob “Slick” Leonard yell BOOM BABY!!!! Once these beautiful uniforms drop on November 15th my bank account will be taking a hit.

Atlanta Hawks

The Atlanta Hawks arguably have the best city edition jerseys of this crop. The blend of red and yellow creates a vintage Atlanta vibe that my good friend Tanner Wildridge described giving him huge ‘Nique vibes. I couldn’t agree more with that statement. I will be looking forward to the Hawks dawning these uniforms all season.

Memphis Grizzlies

The Memphis Grizzlies have been one of my favorite teams to watch over the past few seasons and they haven’t missed on a uniform yet. This streak will continue as the newest city edition jersey is an absolute masterpiece. Combining the elements of the Vancouver Grizzlies and the Grit and Grind Memphis teams creates a city edition uniform fit for the next-gen Griz. I can’t wait to see Ja Morant and Co. wear these while I tune in on NBA League Pass.

Denver Nuggets

I’ve always been a fan of the Denver Nuggets uniforms they have had. The bright yellows with the city skyline, the powder blues that Carmelo Anthony wore during his time in Denver, to even the current crop of uniforms they have gone with. This uniform is a beautiful demonstration of past and present with this year’s city edition.

Missed the Mark

Miami Heat

The Miami Heat might have the worst city edition jersey this year. At first glance, it looks like someone decided to take the idea of a ransom note and turn it into a jersey. It seems like the Miami Heat commissioned the Riddler to make this city edition jersey. This jersey is a hard pass for me.

Boston Celtics

In the defense of the Boston Celtics (which is a side I’m usually never on), you can really only do so much with green and white. With that being said, I think that these jerseys are pretty bland at the first glance. I’m sure they will look a lot better once the Celtics dawn them on the parquet floor at TD Garden.

Leave a comment